Evaluating Doula Certifications

What's important to know?

The doula occupation is unlicensed and unregulated. One way to ensure your doula has met high standards for education, training and experience is to choose a certified doula from a well-known and respected doula certifying organization.

Doulas on DoulaMatch.net have the opportunity to display their certification for your verification.

  • Look for the doula’s certification certificate image on their profile page.
  • Look at the date on the certificate. Is it current?
  • Ask the doula: Are you currently certified? Through which organization?

Doula certifying organizations

The requirements for certifying vary widely between all the doula organizations. It’s impossible to compare each organization when no occupation-wide standards exist for what constitutes a well-trained and credentialed doula.

DoulaMatch.net believes a quality certification program includes these minimum elements:

  • A comprehensive doula training program which includes requirements for in-person classroom work, self-study, and practicum work with minimum hours for each requirement clearly stated.
  • Clearly defined requirements for a doula’s education.
  • Demonstrated doula work experience.
  • Good evaluations from clients and health care providers.
  • Periodic re-certification.
  • Documented continuing education.
  • A publically available code of ethics outlining the doula’s ethical responsibilities to their clients.
  • A publically available standards of practice defining the doula’s scope and limits of their practice.
  • A grievance procedure allowing consumers, colleagues, or care providers to lodge an objection against the organization’s doula if the doula violates the organization’s standards of practice or code of ethics. The goal of the grievance procedure is to uncover the facts of the objection and seek resolution for the injured parties or consequences for the doula, including revoking their certification.

Organizations currently training and certifying doulas:

OrganizationWebsite
Self-trained More info
A Healthy Birth healthybirthclass.com
A Life of Peace www.alifeofpeace.org
A Sacred Journey Doula Training Program asacredjourneyeducationalfacility.weebly.com
A Woman Who Serves www.awomanwhoserves.com
Academy of Certified Birth Educators www.acbe.com
Active Birth Institute www.activebirthinstitute.com
Akwaaba Wellness www.akwaabawellness.com
ALACE (Association of Labor Assistants and Childbirth Educators) www.tolabor.com
AlloTribe Training Academy www.allotribeacademy.com
Amani Birth www.amanibirth.com
Ancient Song Doula Services www.ancientsongdoulaservices.com
Association for Childbirth at Home, International (ACHI) uia.org
Association for Wholistic Maternal & Newborn Health wholisticmaternalnewbornhealth.org
Aunar, Inc. www.school-network.net
Austin Baby Guru austinbabyguru.com
Australian Doula College www.australiandoulacollege.com.au/
Aviva College avivacollege.org
Awen School www.ravenandoak.com
Babymoon Inn babymooninn.com
Bebo Mia www.bebomia.com
Beings in Action (BiA) www.jjdoulatraining.com
Bellies of G.R.R.A.C.E.E. Foundation belliesofgrracee.weebly.com
BEST Doula Training bestdoulatraining.com
Big Belly Services bigbellyservices.com
BioNascimento www.cursodedoula.com
Birth Advocacy Doula Trainings birthingadvocacy.thinkific.com
Birth and Beyond Resources www.birthandbeyondresources.com
Birth Arts International www.birtharts.com
Birth Boot Camp birthbootcampdoulas.com
Birth From the Earth birthfromtheearth.vpweb.com
Birth in the Know birthintheknow.org
Birth Israel birthisrael.com
Birth Trust gilbertbirthcenter.com
Birth Ways International birthwaysinternational.ca
Birth With Spirit www.birthwithspirit.com
Birthing Beautiful Communities www.birthingbeautiful.org
Birthing From Within www.birthingfromwithin.com
Birthing Little Humans Academy birthinglittlehumans.academy
Birthingway College of Midwifery www.birthingway.edu
BirthWorks International www.childbirthinternational.com
Blissful Birthing TN www.blissfulbirthingtn.com
Blue Mountain Doula Program bluemountaindoulaprogram.weebly.com
Cardinal Birth cardinalbirth.com
Carriage House Birth carriagehousebirth.com
Cascade Christian Childbirth Association www.christianchildbirth.org
Catholic Doula Program www.catholicdoula.com
Centre of Excellence www.centreofexcellence.com
Charis Childbirth internationaldoulainstitute.com
Childbirth and Postpartum Professional Association (CAPPA) www.cappa.net
Childbirth International www.childbirthinternational.com
Childbirth Professionals International thechildbirthprofession.com
College of the Rockies cotr.bc.ca
Commonsense Childbirth www.commonsensechildbirth.org
Community Aware Birthworker www.communityawarebirthworker.com
Contemporary Doula International www.contemporarydoulas.com
Cornerstone Doula Trainings cornerstonedoulatrainings.com
Dolphin Method www.dolphinmethod.com
DONA International www.dona.org
Doula Alliance training.doulaalliance.com
Doula Caribe Internacional doulacaribeinternacional.com
Doula To Be doulatobe.com
Doula Training Canada www.doulatraining.ca
Doula Trainings International www.doulatrainingsinternational.com/
Doula UK doula.org.uk
DoulaBuilders stlouisdoulas.com
DOULASINC www.facebook.com
DoulaVersity doulaversity.com
Durham Volunteer Doulas www.durhamvolunteerdoulas.org
Dynamo Doula Training angelagallo.com
Ekw'í7tl Collective Full-Spectrum Doula Training www.fnha.ca
Embodied Doula Trainings embodieddoulatrainings.com
Expertrating.com Doula Training www.expertrating.com
Family Trees Birth Programs www.familytreesbirthprograms.com
Family Trees Doula School www.familytreesbirthprograms.com
Fanshawe College Doula Studies Program www.fanshawec.ca
Genesis Birth Company genesisbirthcompany.com
Global Education of the Midwife gemmidwife.com
GoMidwife gomidwife.com
H.E.R.B.A.L. herbal-training.com
Harbor Birth Institute www.harborbirthinstitute.com
Hartland College adventistmidwives.com
HATCH Community www.thehatchcommunity.org
Healing Arts Learning Organization www.healingartslearning.org
Houston Pregnancy Massage & Doula Care School www.hpregnancy.com
Hypnobabies www.hypnobabies.com
HypnoBirthing www.hypnobirthing.com
Indigemama A Cerrar las Caderas indigescuela.com
Indigo Birth www.indigobirth.com
Innate Traditions Postpartum Care www.innatetraditions.com
Institute of Somatic Therapy www.massagecredits.com
Integrated Birth & Family Alliance www.integratedbirth.org
International Black Doula Institute www.dmvbirthdoulasllc.com
International Center for Traditional Childbearing ictcmidwives.org
International Childbirth Education Association (ICEA) www.icea.org
International Doula Institute http://internationaldoulainstitute.com/
Intuitive Childbirth intuitivechildbirth.org
Intuitive Doula www.intuitivedoula.com
Ivy Doula Association www.ivydoula.com
Jamaa Birth Village www.jamaabirthvillage.org
Kriya Birth Institute kriyabirth.com
Labor Enabler™?Doula Training Apprenticeship Program laborenabler.com
Life Cycles Doulas buffalodoulacollective.com
Lifespan Doulas lifespandoulas.com
Long Island Doula Association, Inc., (LIDA) www.lidoulas.com
Madriella madriella.org
Mama Glow mamaglow.com
Mamatoto Village, Inc www.mamatotovillage.org
Manhattan Birth www.manhattanbirth.com
MaternityWise www.maternitywise.com
Mattie Marie Traditional Birth Studies learntodoula.com
Mercy in Action www.mercyinaction.com
Mère et Monde www.mereetmonde.com
Midwest Maternal Child Institute mmcinst.com
Modern Doula Education moderndoulaeducation.com
Monarch Midwifery www.facebook.com
Montreal Birth Companions Doula School mbcdoulaschool.wordpress.com
MotherMe Doulas www.lamazehealthybirthclass.com
MOTHERPATH (The Gathering Place) www.theplacewegather.com
MotherWit motherwit.ca (pdf)
Nafsa Project School www.laylab.co.uk
Natural Resources store.naturalresources-sf.com
New Beginnings Doula Training www.trainingdoulas.com
Newborn Mothers Collective (Postpartum) www.newbornmothers.com
Niara Healing Arts www.niarahealingarts.com
Nite Instititue of Naturopathic Therapies naturopathicinstitute.info
Northwest Association for Postpartum Support www.napsdoulas.com
Pacific Rim College www.pacificrimcollege.com
PALS Doulas www.palsdoulas.org
Parenting Resources Professional Network www.parentingresourcespros.com
Placenta & Postpartum Association www.ippatraining.com
ProDoula www.prodoula.com
REAL Doula realdoula.com
ReByrth Doula Training Program blackdoulas.org
Red Mundial de Doula www.redmundialdedoulas.com
Rocky Mountain Doula rockymountaindoula.com
Roots of Labor Birth Collective www.rootsoflaborbc.com
Sacred Doula www.sacreddoula.com
Shafia Monroe Consulting Full Circle Doula Training shafiamonroe.com
Sista Midwife Productions www.sistamidwife.com
Southwest Technical College www.swtc.edu
Stillbirthday www.stillbirthday.com
Sudharma Birth Services www.sudharmabirth.com
Sweet Stella’s www.sweetstellas.com
The Birth Well www.thebirthwell.com
The Bradley Method of Husband-Coached Natural Childbirth www.bradleybirth.com
The Doula Company www.thedoulaco.com
The Elite Doula & Co. www.theelitedoulaandco.com
The Gathering Place (MotherPath Doula Training and Certification) www.theplacewegather.com
The Matrona www.thematrona.com
The National Black Doulas Association www.blackdoulas.org
The Nesting Instinct nestinginstinctkw.com
The Organization of Labor Assistants for Birth Options & Resources (toLabor) www.tolabor.com
These Are My Hours www.thesearemyhours.com
Tiny Love Doula Certification tinylovedoulas.com
toLabor www.tolabor.com
Traditional Doula and Midwifery Arts. www.tdoulaarts.com
Train With Kira www.trainwithkira.com
Twin Lakes College of the Healing Arts www.twinlakescollege.org
Ubuntu Wellness Academy www.ubuntuwellnessacademy.com
UC San Diego Health health.ucsd.edu
Urban Baby Beginnings urbanbabybeginnings.org
Uzazi Village www.uzazivillage.org
Vine of Life Doula Training www.vineoflifemidwife.com
Warm Welcome Birth Services www.warmwelcomebirth.com
Well-Rounded Maternity Center www.well-roundedmaternity.com
WISE Community Doulas www.wisecommunitydoulas.org
Wise Woman Way of Birth www.birthtakesavillage.com/doula-curriculum/
Women Honoring Women honoringwomen.com
Women Honoring Women www.honoringwomen.com