Evaluating Doula Certifications

What's important to know?

The doula occupation is unlicensed and unregulated. One way to ensure your doula has met high standards for education, training and experience is to choose a certified doula from a well-known and respected doula certifying organization.

Doulas on DoulaMatch.net have the opportunity to display their certification for your verification.

  • Look for the doula’s certification certificate image on her profile page.
  • Look at the date on the certificate. Is it current?
  • Ask the doula: Are you currently certified? Through which organization?

Doula certifying organizations

The requirements for certifying vary widely between all the doula organizations. It’s impossible to compare each organization when no occupation-wide standards exist for what constitutes a well-trained and credentialed doula.

DoulaMatch.net believes a quality certification program includes these minimum elements:

  • A comprehensive doula training program which includes requirements for in-person classroom work, self-study, and practicum work with minimum hours for each requirement clearly stated.
  • Clearly defined requirements for a doula’s education.
  • Demonstrated doula work experience.
  • Good evaluations from clients and health care providers.
  • Periodic re-certification.
  • Documented continuing education.
  • A publically available code of ethics outlining the doula’s ethical responsibilities to her clients.
  • A publically available standards of practice defining the doula’s scope and limits of her practice.
  • A grievance procedure allowing consumers, colleagues, or care providers to lodge an objection against the organization’s doula if the doula violates the organization’s standards of practice or code of ethics. The goal of the grievance procedure is to uncover the facts of the objection and seek resolution for the injured parties or consequences for the doula, including revoking her certification.

Organizations currently training and certifying doulas:

OrganizationWebsite
A Sacred Journey Doula Training Program asacredjourneyeducationalfacility.weebly.com
ALACE (Association of Labor Assistants and Childbirth Educators) www.tolabor.com
Amani Birth www.amanibirth.com
Ancient Song Doula Services www.ancientsongdoulaservices.com
Association for Wholistic Maternal & Newborn Health wholisticmaternalnewbornhealth.org
Austin Baby Guru austinbabyguru.com
Australian Doula College www.australiandoulacollege.com.au/
Aviva College avivacollege.org
Bebo Mia www.bebomia.com
BEST Doula Training bestdoulatraining.com
BioNascimento www.cursodedoula.com
Birth Arts International www.birtharts.com
Birth Boot Camp birthbootcampdoulas.com
Birth Trust gilbertbirthcenter.com
Birth Ways International birthwaysinternational.ca
Birthing From Within www.birthingfromwithin.com
Birthingway College of Midwifery www.birthingway.edu
BirthWorks International www.childbirthinternational.com
Blue Mountain Doula Program bluemountaindoulaprogram.weebly.com
Carriage House Birth carriagehousebirth.com
Cascade Christian Childbirth Association www.christianchildbirth.org
Childbirth and Postpartum Professional Association (CAPPA) www.cappa.net
Childbirth International www.childbirthinternational.com
College of the Rockies cotr.bc.ca
Commonsense Childbirth www.commonsensechildbirth.org
Cornerstone Doula Trainings cornerstonedoulatrainings.com
DONA International www.dona.org
Doula Alliance training.doulaalliance.com
Doula Caribe Internacional doulacaribeinternacional.com
Doula Training Canada www.doulatraining.ca
Doula Trainings International www.doulatrainingsinternational.com/
Doula Trainings International www.doulatrainingsinternational.com
DoulaBuilders stlouisdoulas.com
Healing Arts Learning Organization www.healingartslearning.org
Hypnobabies www.hypnobabies.com
HypnoBirthing www.hypnobirthing.com
Indigo Birth www.indigobirth.com
Institute of Somatic Therapy www.massagecredits.com
International Center for Traditional Childbearing ictcmidwives.org
International Childbirth Education Association (ICEA) www.icea.org
Intuitive Childbirth intuitivechildbirth.org
Intuitive Doula www.intuitivedoula.com
Kriya Birth Institute kriyabirth.com
Long Island Doula Association, Inc., (LIDA) www.lidoulas.com
Madriella www.madriella.com
Mamatoto Village, Inc www.mamatotovillage.org
MaternityWise www.maternitywise.com
Mercy in Action www.mercyinaction.com
Mère et Monde www.mereetmonde.com
Montreal Birth Companions Doula School mbcdoulaschool.wordpress.com
MotherWit motherwit.ca (pdf)
Natural Resources store.naturalresources-sf.com
New Beginnings Doula Training www.trainingdoulas.com
Newborn Mothers Collective (Postpartum) www.newbornmothers.com
Nite Instititue of Naturopathic Therapies naturopathicinstitute.info
Nite Instititue of Naturopathic Therapies naturopathicinstitute.info
Northwest Association for Postpartum Support www.napsdoulas.com
Pacific Rim College www.pacificrimcollege.com
PALS Doulas www.palsdoulas.org
Parenting Resources Professional Network www.parentingresourcespros.com
ProDoula www.prodoula.com
Red Mundial de Doula www.redmundialdedoulas.com
Sacred Doula www.sacreddoula.com
Stillbirthday www.stillbirthday.com
Sudharma Birth Services www.sudharmabirth.com
The Birth Well www.thebirthwell.com
The Bradley Method of Husband-Coached Natural Childbirth www.bradleybirth.com
The Matrona www.thematrona.com
The Nesting Instinct nestinginstinctkw.com
The Organization of Labor Assistants for Birth Options & Resources (toLabor) www.tolabor.com
Tiny Love Doula Certification www.tinylovedoula.com
UC San Diego Health health.ucsd.edu
Warm Welcome Birth Services www.warmwelcomebirth.com
Welcome Baby Care www.welcomebabycare.com/postpartum-doula-training/
Wise Woman Way of Birth www.birthtakesavillage.com/doula-curriculum/